ULI Colorado Blog

Urban Land Institute selects 16 Etkin Johnson Student Scholars From CU Denver, CU Boulder, CSU, and University of Denver

For immediate release:

Sixteen Colorado undergraduate and graduate students have been awarded ULL Colorado’s Etkin Johnson Student Scholarship for the 2017-18 academic year. Now in its third program year, the scholarship allows Colorado students in architecture, finance, planning, public health and real estate development to participate as members in 40-plus programs and activities hosted by Urban Land Institute (ULI) Colorado, including panel discussions, lectures, and insider tours of new development projects. Etkin Johnson Student Scholars will also receive one-on-one and small group access to ULI leaders.

Bruce Etkin addresses the 2017-18 Student Scholars

The program was founded in 2014 with a grant from Etkin Johnson Real Estate Partners, made through the Aspen Foundation. Etkin Johnson is a full-service, privately owned commercial real estate investment and development company based in Colorado. Chairman Bruce H. Etkin, a trustee and governor of the global ULI, has taken a personal interest in mentoring and developing the careers of students in land use-related fields.

“We’re pleased to offer opportunities to leading Colorado students in business, architecture, engineering, public health, environmental science, and all disciplines related to wise use of urban land,” says Etkin. “While offering inspiration and connection to industry leaders for the students, this program reflects on ULI multi-disciplinary focus to create sustainable and thriving cities, suburbs and towns.”

Piloted in Colorado in 2014, the program has grown to three other states with support from Etkin Johnson Real Estate Services.

Our scholars get a chance to hear from senior ULI Leaders

With 1,200 members, ULI Colorado is one of the largest District Councils (field offices) of the 40,000-member global ULI, whose mission is to promote leadership in responsible land use. ULI members embrace 26 different professions, including architecture, commercial real estate lending, land development, planning, and public service. Based in Denver, ULI Colorado is led by a four-person staff and a 20-member Executive Committee chaired by Tracy Huggins, executive director of Denver Urban Renewal Authority (DURA).

The 16 student scholars awarded are:

Camron Bridgford, CU Denver MURP; Adam Buehler, M. Arch CU Denver; Tyler Cande, CU Boulder MBA; Jane Daniels, Burns School of Real Estate and the Built Environment; Eugene Funke, CU Boulder MBA; Max Golopol, CU Boulder MBA; Kristina Krone, CU Boulder MBA; Alexandra McPherson, CU Boulder; Natalie Poremba, CU Boulder; Kari Remmen, CU Denver; Elle Rich, MURP/MPH, CU Denver; Alex Schott, CU Boulder; Jonathan Smail, MURP, CU Denver; Laurel Van Scoy, M. Eng, CU Denver; Madison Wilsmann, CU Boulder, Elizabeth Young, MURP/MPH, CU Denver, CSU. Learn more about our scholars here.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *