Community Development Product Council


Jim Johnson, Otten Johnson Neff + Ragonetti

Scott Cox, SLC Advisors


Eliot Hoyt, BrightView Design Group

Community Development Product Council

Content and best practices will be shared through four programs planned over the course of 2 years. Membership is renewed annually. The Colorado Product Councils provide opportunity for leadership and volunteer involvement in ULI at the local level, by promoting excellence in programming and fostering a culture of openness and sharing of issues critical to the land use planning and real estate development industries.

Key benefits:

– A think-tank and resource for best practice sharing and collaboration
– Includes top real estate professionals only
– Build professional relationships in close-knit, small group format (40 max)
– Opportunity open to Full Members and Associate Members only
– Minimal fees – to cover costs of twice annual meetings

Community Development Product Council Program:

ULI Colorado’s Community Development Council seeks to engage
community developers from across the market’s breadth: those creating place in the suburban arena and those bringing life and community into the urban core.

Past topics have included: market rate affordability and attainable housing, innovation in suburban and urban community development, a fresh look at amenity design for master planned communities, current thinking on designing for density, the latest updates on regulatory issues and new legislation,  and how to make healthy communities.

Our Council Days include spirited  panel discussions, collaborative round table sessions,  and project tours led by ULI Leaders. Past agendas are available for review below. Our first meeting of the new council is planned for mid-September and will feature the topic, “Disruption.”

Please click here to see past agendas from our 2016 Winter Symposium and 2015 Summer Symposium.

Current Chairs:






Jim Johnson, Otten Johnson Neff + Ragonetti


Scott Cox, SLC Advisors



Eliot Hoyt, BrightView Design Group


Leadership Committee Past Chair(s):
Sandi Thomas, Sinclair McLean
Jeff Handlin, Oread Capital & Development
Mark Nickless, Oread Capital & Development

Current members include:
Jonathan Alpert, Westfield Company
Garrett Baum, Urban Frontier
Steve Burns, Iron Woman Construction & Environment
Blake Calvert, Core Consultants
Scott Chomiak, Koelbel & Co.
John Covert, Metrostudy
Bob Detrick, Polsinelli
Forrest Hancock, Forest City Stapleton
Jeff Handlin, Oread Capital Management
Steve Hebert, City of Lone Tree
Denise Hogenes, CCMC
William Jencks, Ranch Capital
Jim Johnson, Otten Johnson Neff + Ragonetti
Anna Jones, Clifton Larson Allen
Darryl Jones, Denver International Airport
Mike Kboudi, Cassidy Turley
Andrew Knudtsen, Economic & Planning Systems
Chester T. Latcham, Shea Homes Colorado
Sarah Laverty, EnviroFinance Group
Jon Lee, Community Development Group
William Licko, UDR
Heidi Majerik, Southern Land Company
Steve Mulhern, Coventry Development
Chad Murphy, Hines
Mark Nickless, Oread Capital & Development
John Norris, Norris Design
Kim Perry, McWhinney
Bruce Rau, Oakwood Homes
Trae Rigby, Saunders Development
Rick Rubin, Fox Rothschild LLP
Sam Sharp, DA Davidson
Doug Shelton, KB Home
David Sinkey, Boulder Creek Neighborhoods
Arleen Taniwaki, ArLand Land Use Economics
Sandi Thomas, Newland Real Estate Group
Tanner Tweten, FirstBank
Pat Vaughn, Southern Ute Growth Fund
Susan Wade, Redland
David Ware, McStain Neighborhoods
Brad Weinig, Herman & Kittle Properties
Terry Willis, KTGY Architecture + Planning

Applications to join the council are accepted on a rolling basis. Apply anytime! Applications are reviewed in June of each year

Joining a Product Council:

All Product Councils will open for re-evaluation of membership in the Summer of each year, and new applicants and those on waiting lists will be considered for membership.

Applications are collected online on an ongoing basis, and reviewed annually from June- July by the Council Chairs for each Product Council. 

You may fill out an application at any time. Product Council membership is limited, as previous council members may continue for multiple terms. Generally, 5-8 spots may open on each council annually. 

Fill out an application for the CDC Council here.

For more information, please contact Sarah Franklin at 303.893.1760, ext. 3 or

Product Council Marketing Flyer